2019 Jamia CAA protest: Delhi Court dismisses cases against all student activists

A Delhi court on Saturday discharged all eleven student leaders accused of inciting rioting in the Jamia CAA protest case.

Safoora Zargar, Sharjeel Imam, Aasif Iqbal Tanha, Chanda Yadav, Mohd Abuzar, Umair Ahmad, Mohd Shoaib, Mahmood Anwar, Mohd Qasim, Bilal Nadeem, and Shahzar Raza Khan are among the student leaders.

Additional Sessions Judge Arul Varma at Saket district court, while discharging the students, said “it would be pertinent to underscore that dissent is nothing but an extension of the invaluable fundamental right to Freedom of Speech and Expression contained in Article 19 of the Constitution of India, subject to the restrictions contained. It is therefore a right which we are sworn to uphold.”

Rioting and unlawful assembly were charged in the Jamia case under sections 143, 147, 148, 149, 186, 353, 332, 333, 308, 427, 435, 323, 341, 120B, and 34 of the Indian Penal Code.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *